I woke from a dream
you were being mean
because I said
something true
that hurt your feelings
I couldn’t find
the “just the right” chair
for dad
my mother and her mother
were hovering
my oldest daughter was
studying
and my youngest
practically a baby
had lost a piece of paper
a bus pass
I tried a bunch of different chairs
for dad
they were all collapse
able
port
able
the kind you take to a softball game
on sale for $4.49
I found three
a brown leopard print
for mother
she hates animal print
the other two coordinated
I looked
and looked
for something to go
with the leopard chair
I asked dad to help me
he found a few
for an even better
price
but they were small
tiny
and my dad is a big man
or he used to be
before he started melting away
the outer layer that protected
him from the world
he tried the tiny chairs and
looked ridiculous
I woke from a dream
you were being mean
because I said
something true
that hurt your feelings

Leave a Reply

