your story

 

has the boisterous charm

 

of a three-ring circus

 

 

 

my story

 

is muted and soft

 

like the wing of a moth

 

 

 

when you speak

 

streams of glee

 

trickle into laughing mouths

 

 

 

when I speak

 

silent owl eyes

 

blink questions

 

 

 

you

 

relive

 

act out

 

enthrall

 

I

abbreviate

 

your story:

dog poop

Home Depot

and the dry heaves

 

 

my story:

 

a dropped

blueberry pie

 

and the winner is…

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Your Story vs. My Story

Leave a Reply

