Pieter Bruegel the Elder- Storm at Sea - detail
Pieter Bruegel the Elder- Storm at Sea – detail (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am truly sorry for your loss.

I know nothing I can say tonight

will mend your broken heart.

So I’ll do the best that I can

and offer you my hand.

Just hold on.

Even though the storm is raging

there’s a lighthouse in the dark.

Just hold on.

Even when you feel like the sea

of grief is carrying you away.

Just hold on.

I know nothing I can say tonight

will mend your broken heart.

So I’ll do the best that I can

and offer you my hand.

Just hold on.

 

3 thoughts on “Dear Friend

    1. Thank you. A woman that I work with lost her husband tonight… brain tumor. Horrible. One of those situations where “I’m sorry for your loss” doesn’t seem good enough.

Leave a Reply

