The skin on my fingers is cracking and raw
It hurts to touch it
I can’t stop touching it
pressing it
pressing the scaly red patch above my knuckle
inflicting torture on myself
picking hard dry bits of flesh away
smoothing away the dead bits
I am smoothing it out
I lie to myself
I am making it worse
The picking draws blood
pressing draws blood
I am making it worse
It hurts like hell
but I can’t stop

One thought on “self inflicted torture

  1. Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this piece of
    writing i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant piece of writing.

Leave a Reply

