I can’t let this go
this wriggling
wet
twisting
dream
it scares me
like the rainbow trout
my cousin and I caught at the lake
it squirms
it jerks
I can’t control it
sometimes I’m desperate
to let someone else take it
unhook the floundering thing
but this dream is mine
precious slick silver
sucking in air
freedom is the release
death is being put on ice
to be consumed and forgotten
I can’t let it go
it scares me
this wriggling
wet
twisting dream
but this dream is mine
precious slick sliver
and it longs to be released
to be free
to breathe

Leave a Reply

