first semester freshman year
he catches her gaze from across the room
eyes of crystal blue
he’s got a girl at home
that he thinks he loves
and he’s tryin’ to stay true
but blue eyes smiles
and says
I’m in love
what are you gonna do

you’re not the one for me
he says real low
the timing’s just not right
maybe somewhere down the road
we’ll have to wait and see
but right now
you’re not the one for me

college days come to an end
he sees those crystal blue eyes again
this time she’s found love
and his heart is broken in two
he wants to work things out
but blue eyes smiles
and says
I’m in love
what are you gonna do

you’re not the one for me
he says real low
the timing’s just not right
maybe somewhere down the road
we’ll have to wait and see
but right now
you’re not the one for me

if you love someone
you’ve got to set them free
give them a second chance to fly
sometimes we miss our chance at love
and then it’s time to say goodbye

you’re not the one for me
he says real low
the timing’s just not right
maybe somewhere down the road
we’ll have to wait and see
but right now
you’re not the one for me

Leave a Reply

