end of a long hump day
my classroom bitten by March madness
I joined the throng
basking in the spring sun
searching for a sweet treat
I saw you through the window
of the corner water ice stand
your face not so changed by the years
I wondered if you would know me
your eyes flicked over me
once
twice
then landed
a shy smile
I finally asked over
the shoulder of the women
you were waiting on,
“Do you recognize me?”
“Of course,” you said
as I stepped up to place my order
through the window we chatted
I tried not to hold up the line
of noisy customers
clambering for the first taste of spring
“I’m going to college next year,”
you said
“Already,” was my reply
“To be a teacher,” you said
passing over an ice cold cup
stupidly smiling, I walked away
with water ice that tasted
of sweet satisfaction

Leave a Reply

